Working hours: 0900 hrs – 1700 hrs MUT
Visit of the Indian Parliamentary delegation...
Home › Press Releases › Visit of the Indian Parliamentary delegation...

Visit of the Indian Parliamentary delegation led by Hon’ble Speaker, Lok Sabha Smt. Meira Kumar 

January 17-21, 2010

Hon’ble Speaker, Lok Sabha, Smt. Meira Kumar led an Indian Parliamentary delegation to Mauritius from 17 to 21 January, 2010. The delegation included Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, Shri Tiruchi Siva, Smt. Rama Devi, Shri Shivanand Tiwary, Dr. Mahesh Joshi, all Members of Parliament and Shri P.D.T. Achary, Secretary- General, Lok Sabha. Shri Amitabh Mukhopadhyay, Joint Secretary, Lok Sabha Secretariat was the Secretary to the Delegation.

2. During the visit to Mauritius, the delegation held discussions with Rt. Hon Sir Anerood Jugnauth, President of the Republic of Mauritius; Hon. Dr. Navinchandra Ramgoolam, Prime Minister of the Republic of Mauritius; Hon. Rajkeswur Purryag, Speaker of the National Assembly;   Hon Paul Raymond Berenger, Leader of Opposition; and Hon. Arvin Boolell, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade.  The delegation held wide ranging discussions on issues of international and bilateral importance. During the visit of the delegation to Mahatma Gandhi Institute at Moka on January 18, 2010, Hon’ble Speaker, Lok Sabha inaugurated “Kalpana” Exhibition in the presence of the Hon. Rajkeswur Purryag, Speaker of the National Assembly.

3. The delegation paid homage at SSR Samadhi at the Botanical Garden at Pamplemousses.  The delegation visited the Cyber City, Ebene a project facilitated by the Indian Government and which has already become a hub of global IT giants.  The delegation attended a session of the Mauritius National Assembly.  The delegation also visited Aapravasi Ghat, the memorial to indentured labour and also a UNESCO-World Heritage Site.  The delegation paid a visit to the University of Mauritius.  The delegation visited Ganga Talao and the Le Morne World Heritage Site also. The delegation visited the National Women’s Development Centre at Phoenix. The Indian Parliamentary delegation also had interactions with the heads of the Indian Public Sector Undertakings based in Mauritius.


Address: High Commission of India, 6th Floor, L.I.C. Building, Pres. John Kennedy Street, P.O. Box 162, Port Louis, Mauritius.

Working hours: 0930 hours to 1700 hours (Monday to Friday)
Telephone Numbers: (230) 208 3775/76, 208 0031, 211 1400.

Fax Number: (230)208 8891

Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy |
Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help

© High Commission of Port Louis, Mauritius 2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited.