Working hours: 0900 hrs – 1700 hrs MUT
India's election to United Nations Security...
Home › Press Releases › India's election to United Nations Security...

India’s election to United Nations Security Council 

October 12, 2010

The United Nations General Assembly today elected India as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a two year term beginning 1 January 2011. India received 187 votes, the highest among the candidates for election to the Security Council as non-permanent members. The minimal threshold for election to the Security Council is 128 votes, which is two-thirds of the votes of the 192 Member States of the United Nations.

This will be India’s seventh term on the Security Council as a non-permanent member. India has previously been a member of the Security Council in 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, and 1991-92.

As a founding member of the United Nations, India is fully committed to the Organization’s principles and purposes. During its forthcoming term in the UNSC, India will discharge its obligations as a responsible member of the international community and a representative of the developing countries by remaining fully and actively engaged on all issues before the Council. India looks forward to working with fellow members of the UNSC and other Member States of the UN to these ends.

New Delhi
October 12, 2010


Address: High Commission of India, 6th Floor, L.I.C. Building, Pres. John Kennedy Street, P.O. Box 162, Port Louis, Mauritius.

Working hours: 0930 hours to 1700 hours (Monday to Friday)
Telephone Numbers: (230) 208 3775/76, 208 0031, 211 1400.

Fax Number: (230)208 8891

Copyright policy | Terms & Condition | Privacy Policy |
Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Option | Help

© High Commission of Port Louis, Mauritius 2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited.